The passage of the Bérézina by the Grande Armée

Retreat from Russia.  

November 26 - 29, 1812 

The passage of the Bérézina by the Grande Armée from 26 to 29 November 1812 is an event that marks the history of France and Europe. The battle which took place there allowed the army of twenty nations led by Napoleon to push back three armies of Czar Alexander I and to escape from the Russian trap. Indisputable military success, the passage of Bérézina will however incorrectly pass down to posterity as a synonym of tragedy or debacle.



The Grande Armée left Moscow to take up winter quarters on October 19, 1812. After several weeks of a retreat made difficult by an early winter and harassment  Russian troops, Napoleon  is in a critical position, trapped by the concentration of three Russian armies at the level of the natural obstacle constituted by the Bérézina marshes.

 

On November 23, 1812, the Napoleonic vanguard led by Marshal Oudinot jostled the Russian army of Admiral Tchitchakof and threw it back on the right bank of the Berezina. However, the Russians can destroy the Borisov Bridge, the only bridge in the region, and stop Napoleon's march towards Minsk and France. Followed by Koutouzov's army, exposed on his flank by Wittgenstein's army and blocked by the Berezina marshes, Napoleon then found himself under the threat of encirclement by three Russian armies, the outcome of which could only be to be the annihilation of the Grand Army and the capture of its leader. A physical description of Napoleon is even communicated to the Russian army to thwart any attempt to escape.
 


Construction of bridges .

Napoleon then simulated an attempt to cross a dozen kilometers downstream from Borisov. The feint works and Tchitchakov sends the main body of his troops there. 15 km upstream from Borisov, with reduced resources and in record time, the engineers built two trestle bridges at the ford of Stoudienka on November 25 and 26.

 

 

Crossing the Bérézina

The troops crossed the Berezina on November 26 and 27 practically without having to fight, in the absence of Russian troops.

After understanding their error, the Russians concentrated on the site of the passage and engaged in battle on November 28 at dawn on both sides of the Berezina. Napoleonic troops fight victoriously on both sides  : right bank, Tchitchakov is jostled and must retreat several kilometers from the site of the passage  ; left bank, Wittgenstein could not begin the heroic defense of Marshal Victor and failed in his attempt to jostle the Napoleonic rear guard in the Bérézina.

A total of 50,000 men successfully cross the river on these makeshift bridges  : all the army corps, the artillery and a large part of the baggage pass on the right bank. Alexander I's maneuver aimed at the annihilation of the Grande Armée did not work. On the 29th, at 8:30 am, on Napoleon's order, the bridges will be destroyed to block the pursuit of the Russians.

 

The fights of Borisov, the battles on both shores and the bombardment of the crowds near the bridges are very deadly. Estimates bring the number of civilian and military casualties to nearly 40,000 among belligerents on both sides and among local civilian populations.

© Jérôme Beaucour, May 2012

Center for Napoleonic Studies

Jan Hoynk van Papendrecht -Legermuseum.j

Passage of the Bérézina.  

Jan Hoynk van Papendrecht - Legermuseum.

pontonnier eble.jpg
d22445a126c3f050-7d31e.jpg

Passage of the Berezina by the French army Franz von Habermann - Institut de France, Thiers library, Paris

1812charge_decuirassiers_doumerc_bolchoi

1812 Charge of the cuirassier of Doumerc, at Bolshoi Stakov: the Russian troops are sent back several kilometers from the passage

Army museum

La passage de la Bérézina par la Grande Armée

Retraite de Russie. 

26 - 29 novembre 1812 

Le passage de la Bérézina par la Grande Armée du 26 au 29 novembre 1812 est un évènement qui marque l’histoire de France et d’Europe. La bataille qui s’y déroula permit à l’armée des vingt nations dirigée par Napoléon de repousser trois armées du tzar Alexandre 1er et de s’extraire du piège russe. Indiscutable succès militaire, le passage de la Bérézina passera cependant inexactement à la postérité comme synonyme de tragédie ou de débâcle.



La Grande Armée quitte Moscou pour prendre des quartiers d'hivers le 19 octobre 1812. Apres plusieurs semaines d'une retraite rendue difficile par un hivers précoce et le harcèlement des troupes Russes, Napoléon se trouve dans une position critique, coincée par la concentration de trois armées Russes au niveau de l'obstacle naturel que constitue les marais de la Bérézina.

 

Le 23 novembre 1812, l’avant-garde Napoléonienne menée par le Maréchal Oudinot bouscule l’armée russe de l’Amiral Tchitchakof et la rejette sur la rive droite de la Bérézina. Cependant, les Russes peuvent détruire le pont de Borisov, unique pont de la région, et stoppent la marche de Napoléon vers Minsk et la France. Suivi par l’armée de Koutouzov, exposé sur son flanc par l’armée de Wittgenstein et bloqué par les marais de la Bérézina, Napoléon se trouve alors sous la menace d’un encerclement par trois armées russes dont l’issue ne peut qu’être l’anéantissement de la Grande Armée et la capture de son chef. Une description physique de Napoléon est même communiquée dans l’armée russe pour mettre en échec toute tentative de fuite.
 


Construction des ponts.

Napoléon simule alors une tentative de traversée à une douzaine de kilomètres en aval de Borisov. La feinte fonctionne et Tchitchakov y envoie le gros de ses troupes. A 15 km en amont de Borisov, avec des moyens réduits et en un temps record, les soldats du génie construisent deux ponts de chevalets au gué de Stoudienka les 25 et 26 novembre.

 

 

Le franchissement de la Bérézina

Les troupes franchissent la Bérézina les 26 et 27 novembre pratiquement sans avoir à combattre, en l'absence de troupes russes.

Après avoir compris leur erreur, les Russes se concentrent sur le site du passage et livrent bataille le 28 novembre à l’aube des deux cotés de la Bérézina. Les troupes Napoléoniennes se battent victorieusement de part et d’autre : rive droite, Tchitchakov est bousculé et doit battre en retraite à plusieurs kilomètres du site du passage ; rive gauche, Wittgenstein ne peut entamer la défense héroïque du maréchal Victor et échoue dans sa tentative de bousculer l’arrière garde Napoléonienne dans la Bérézina.

Au total 50 000 hommes franchissent avec succès la rivière sur ces ponts de fortune : tous les corps d’armées, l’artillerie et une grande partie des bagages passent sur la rive droite. La manœuvre d’Alexandre 1er visant à l’anéantissement de la Grande Armée n’a pas fonctionné. Le 29, à 8h30 du matin, sur l’ordre de Napoléon les ponts seront détruits pour bloquer la poursuite des Russes.

 

Les combats de Borisov, les batailles sur les deux rives et le bombardement de la foule à proximité des ponts sont très meurtriers. Des estimations portent à près de 40 000 le nombre de victimes civiles et militaires parmi les belligérants des deux cotés et au sein des populations civiles locales.

©Jérôme Beaucour, mai 2012

Centre d’Etudes Napoléoniennes

Passage de la Bérézina. 

Jan Hoynk van Papend­recht - Legermuseum.

Passage de la Berezina par l’armée française Franz von Habermann - Institut de France, bibliothèque Thiers, Paris

1812 Charge de cuirassier de Doumerc, à Bolchoi stakov: les troupes russes sont renvoyées à plusieurs kilometres du passage

Musée de l’Armée

MD

CENTRE D'ETUDES NAPOLEONIENNES

de la Société de Sauvegarde du Château Impérial de Pont de Briques

Siége Social: 

4 Rue Camille Pelletan

92300 LEVALLOIS-PERRET

FRANCE

Association Loi de 1901 fondée le 17 juin 1966

Suivez nous:

 

Email:  centre.etudesnapoleoniennes at gmx.fr

  • Icône sociale YouTube
  • Facebook Clean