A monument born from an encounter

monumentberezina.gif

Monument project in its final version (1997),

  signed by sculptor Ivan Misco

monument 1995.jpg

The French monument of Bérézina in September 1995

(photo by Ivan Minsko)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*

 

The initial plaque, seen here is currently on display in the grand staircase of the embassy

from France to Minsk.

F beaucour a musee histoire Borisov avec

June 6, 1993 - Borisov Museum.

C Jolif, Ambassador of France and M F. Beaucour

On the occasion of a study trip on the course of the Russian campaign in May-June 1993, Fernand Beaucour visited the site of the Passage de la Bérézina in the company of the French ambassador, Mr. Claude Jolif. A meeting was organized by the Belarusian authorities during which, addressing F Beaucour, the idea of a French monument was proposed by the director of the Borisov Historical Museum. F Beaucour writes  : " It was in the circumstances of friendly relations that I was requested that the crossing of the Berezina by Napoleon and the Grande Armée be commemorated by the Center d'Études Napoléoniennes ". It was June 6, 1993.  

The steps were taken with the Ministry of Culture and the local authorities of the Borisov district and on November 29, 1993, the Council of Ministers gave the green light for the erection of the French monument of Bérézina. The VITMAR company from Minsk is chosen for the construction, and the famous sculptor Ivan MISKO will be in charge of the artistic design of the monument.  

" My project was to mark the military feat and the crossing of the Bérézina, an operation which had united at the same time, the intelligence, the genius and the courage of the man overcoming adversities, that is to say something quite different than a monument to the dead of the battle, but whose memory would not be forgotten "

F. Beaucour.

"Napoleon at the Berezina" Levallois, CEN, 2004

A first location is chosen on the path crossing the Brili marsh, opposite the monuments of Stoudienka. The cost  high creation of an access road leads to looking for a new location. This will be the elevated position on the Brili shore offering a remarkable point of view of the site of the passage, used by the Emperor to direct the fighting of November 28, 1812.  A plot of 400 m2 is granted to CEN by the Kutusov collective farm.

Inauguration with twists and turns.

In September 1995, the monument was ready for the inauguration fixed for October 3, 1995. However, on September 23, Professor Fernand Beaucour was hospitalized at the Kaliningrad hospital where he participated in a conference on Kant: the inauguration was to be canceled, postponed to April 1996.

Presidential elections are taking place in Belarus at the end of winter 1996, and the monument is being re-examined by the new leaders. A few days before the inauguration, the decision falls: the plaque of the monument is no longer suitable.  The monument can however be inaugurated without its plaque, which takes place on April 16.

 

A new plaque must be melted down: that of the current monument, the more sober text of which is accepted by the Belarusian authorities. The French monument can finally be inaugurated in its current form on November 16, 1997, in the presence of the French Ambassador, the Belarusian authorities and Professor Beaucour.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

inauguration nov97.jpg
inauguration avril962.jpg

April 16, 1996- 1st Inauguration of the French monument erected by the Center for Napoleon Studies, the work of sculptor Ivan Misko.

SE  C. Jolif, Ambassador of France and F. Beaucour

berezina monument5 plaque originale.jpg

The 1st version of the monument plaque

 

inauguration nov97b.jpg

Un monument né d'une rencontre

Projet de Monument dans sa version finale (1997),

 signé par le sculteur Ivan Misco

Le monument français de la Bérézina en septembre 1995

(photo d'Ivan Minsko)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*

 

La plaque initiale, que l'on voit ici est actuellement exposée dans le grand escalier de l'ambassade

de France à Minsk.

6 juin 1993 - Musée de Borisov.

C Jolif, Ambassadeur de France et M F. Beaucour

A l'occasion d'un voyage d'étude sur le parcours de la campagne de Russie en mai-juin 1993, Fernand Beaucour visite le site du passage de la Bérézina en compagnie de l'ambassadeur de France, M. Claude Jolif. Une réunion est organisée par les autorités bélarusses au cours de laquelle, s'adressant à F Beaucour, l'idée d'un monument français est proposée par le directeur du musée historique de Borisov. F Beaucour écrit  : « Ce fut dans des circonstances de relations amicales que je fus sollicité pour que la traversée de la Bérézina par Napoléon et la Grande Armée soit commémorée par le Centre d’Études Napoléoniennes". C’était le 6 juin 1993. 

Les démarches sont entreprises auprès du ministère de la culture et des autorités locales du district de Borisov et le 29 novembre 1993, le conseil des ministres donne son feu vert pour l'érection du monument français de la Bérézina. La société VITMAR de Minsk est choisie pour la construction, et c'est le célèbre sculpteur Ivan MISKO qui sera en charge de la conception artistique du monument. 

"Mon projet était de marquer l'exploit militaire et la traversée de la Bérézina, opération qui avait réuni à la fois, l'intelligence, le génie et le courage de l'homme surmontant les adversités, c'est à dire tout autre chose qu'un monument au morts de la bataille, mais dont ainsi le souvenir ne serait pas oublié"

F. Beaucour.

"Napoléon à la Bérézina" Levallois, C.E.N., 2004

Un premier emplacement est choisi sur le chemin traversant le marais de Brili, face aux monuments de Stoudienka. Le coût élevé de création d'une voie d'accès conduit à chercher un nouvel emplacement. Ce sera la position élevée sur la rive de Brili offrant un remarquable point de vue du site du passage, utilisé par l’Empereur pour diriger les combats du 28 novembre 1812. Un terrain de 400 m2 est accordé au CEN par le kolkhoze Koutousov.

Inauguration à rebondissements.

En septembre 1995, le monument est prêt pour l'inauguration fixée au 3 octobre 1995. Cependant, le 23 septembre, le professeur Fernand Beaucour est hospitalisé à l'hôpital de Kaliningrad où il participe à un colloque sur Kant: l'inauguration doit être annulée, reportée à avril 1996.

Des élections présidentielles ont lieu au Belarus en cette fin d'hivers 1996, et le monument est réexaminé par les nouveaux dirigeants. Quelques jours avant l'inauguration, la décision tombe: la plaque du monument ne convient plus.  Le monument peut cependant être inauguré sans sa plaque, ce qui a lieu le 16 avril.

 

Une nouvelle plaque doit etre fondue: celle du monument actuel dont le texte plus sobre est accepté par les autorités Belarusses. Le monument français peut finalement etre inauguré dans sa forme actuelle le 16 novembre 1997, en présence de l'ambassadeur de France, les autorités Bélarusse et le professeur Beaucour.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 avril 1996- 1ere Inauguration du monument francais érigé par le Centre d'Etudes Napoléoniennes, œuvre du sculpteur Ivan Misko.

S.E.  C. Jolif, Ambassadeur de France et F. Beaucour

La 1ere version de la plaque du monument

 

MD

CENTRE D'ETUDES NAPOLEONIENNES

de la Société de Sauvegarde du Château Impérial de Pont de Briques

Siége Social: 

4 Rue Camille Pelletan

92300 LEVALLOIS-PERRET

FRANCE

Association Loi de 1901 fondée le 17 juin 1966

Suivez nous:

 

Email:  centre.etudesnapoleoniennes at gmx.fr

  • Icône sociale YouTube
  • Facebook Clean