The origin of the Association

F Beaucour dans son bureau 25janv1989 _

Fernand Beaucour,

Doctorate in Law and History,

Engineer from Ecole Centrale Paris (46), in his office.

pdp1.jpg
pdp.jpg
THE SAFEGUARD OF THE CASTLE  BRICK BRIDGE

The preservation of the Château de Pont de Briques is the founding act of the association. Let us recall here the historical context and the first moments which made it possible to  save this castle promised to destruction for the construction of a fast lane serving Boulogne.

 

In 1803, Napoleon deciding to put an end to England, and, taking up the idea of a military expedition, went to Boulogne-sur-Mer where he chose the castle of Pont-de-Briques, located at the entrance to this city, as headquarters.

In 1961, Fernand Beaucour, with Pierre Schommer, curator of the Malmaison museum,  P. A Wimet, G.  Guérin du Masgenêt and a group of Boulonnais are concerned about the future of this castle threatened with demolition by the creation of a

Industrial Zone .  On May 27, 1962, a marble plaque was sealed on one of the pillars of the entrance to the main courtyard of the castle: "Here resided Napoleon during the Camp de Boulogne, 1803-1805."

Fernand Beaucour and his group attract  the attention of the prefect, who alerts the curator of the Buildings of France, the architect of historic monuments,

etc. Time is passing. On March 14, 1966, it was decided to make an intervention with the Grand Chancellor of the Legion of Honor, General Catroux who, on May 6, 1966, attracted the attention of Minister André Malraux and the regional prefect Jean Tomasi to that the project of a new ring road with the destruction of the castle be abandoned.

The Prefect summons the Departmental Site Commission to reconsider this Boulogne road service project. The meeting took place in Arras on May 13, 1966. " I was summoned and I went there; I found myself alone, to defend the cause of the castle; a favorable vote was obtained and it was decided to reconsider the decision. question "write Fernand Beaucour (1).

On the advice of the regional conservator of buildings of France Pierre Latte, the Society for the Safeguarding of the Imperial Castle of Pont-de-Briques , a 1901 law association, was created on June 9, 1966, following a meeting on the 1st floor of the café. "to the philosopher" at 4 rue Porte Neuve in Boulogne, bringing together F Beaucour some thirty friends and historians of Boulonnais. Among them,  the chief architect of historical monuments Ch. Waldschmidt, Pierre André Wimet, Historian and specialist in the remains of Brick Bridge, Albert Mac Kenna, who proposed this name of Society for the Preservation of the Imperial Castle of Pont de Briques , which avoided any confusion with the  "Palais Imperial" of the Hôtel Désandrouin, and Pierre Stenne, sculptor of the new statue of Napoleon  on the Boulogne column. At this meeting the statutes are adopted; the administrators are elected, who elect themselves the office.  Fernand Beaucour, who was at the head of all the procedures, is elected president of the company.

 

The statutes will be deposited in Boulogne on June 17, 1966. Many personalities support the action of the association, and participate in the honorary committee: General Catroux, General Koenig, Mr. A. Masséna, Prince d'Essling, SA Prince Louis Murat, Count Roger Waleski, Professor Pierre Montet, of the Institute and many others.

 

  After several years of efforts, the decree of the Minister of Equipment of February 24, 1969 modifies the initial road plan, defines the bypass  current which will tour the Château de Pont de Briques, and thus acts as its Safeguard.

A few years later, the final preservation of the castle was acquired, by its classification as a historical monument by the ministerial decree of October 1, 1974.

Supporting the preservation of the castle, the Company contributes to historical knowledge of the Camp de Boulogne period. F Beaucour publishes Letters, Decisions and Acts  de Napoléon à Pont-de-Briques reference work in three volumes bringing together all the decisions taken by Napoleon at Pont-de-Briques, in which we can follow from day to day the creation of the Grande Armée prepared for the invasion of England (an objective which he had to abandon after the loss of the Franco-Spanish navy in Trafalgar), and all the decisions taken by the Emperor to administer the country. Many articles in our review "Etudes Napoléoniennes", notably in the first issues, detail the history of the castle, life in the Boulogne camp and the circumstances of this capital period of the First Empire.  

 

(1) F Beaucour, JB Beaucour. Letters Decisions and Acts of Napoleon at Pont de Briques - Volume 3, page 1.

destruction.jpg
pdp3.jpg

L'origine de l'Association

Fernand Beaucour,

Docteur en Droit et en Histoire,

Ingenieur de l'Ecole Centrale Paris (46), dans son bureau.

LA SAUVEGARDE DU CHÂTEAU DE PONT DE BRIQUES

La sauvegarde du château de Pont de Briques est l'acte fondateur de l'association. Rappelons en ici le contexte historique et les premiers moments qui permirent de sauver ce château promis à la destruction pour la construction d'une voie rapide desservant Boulogne.

 

En 1803, Napoléon décidant d’en finir avec l’Angleterre, et, reprenant l’idée d’une expédition militaire, se rend à Boulogne-sur-Mer où il choisit le château de Pont-de-Briques, situé à l’entrée de cette ville, comme quartier général.

En 1961, Fernand Beaucour, avec Pierre Schommer, conservateur du musée de Malmaison, P. A Wimet , G.  Guérin du Masgenêt et un groupe de Boulonnais se préoccupent de l’avenir de ce château menacé de démolition par la création d’une

zone industrielle . Le 27 mai 1962 une plaque de marbre est scellée sur l’un des piliers de l’entrée de la Cour d’honneur du château : « Ici résidait Napoléon pendant le Camp de Boulogne, 1803-1805 .»

Fernand Beaucour et son groupe attirent l’attention du préfet, qui alerte le conservateur des Bâtiments de France, l’architecte des Monuments historiques,

etc. Le temps passe. Le 14 mars 1966, il est décidé de faire une intervention auprès du Grand Chancelier de la Légion d’honneur, le général Catroux qui, des le 6 mai 1966, attire l’attention du ministre André Malraux et du préfet de région Jean Tomasi pour que le projet de nouvelle rocade avec la destruction du château soit abandonné.

Le préfet convoque la Commission départementale des sites pour reconsidérer ce projet de desserte routière de Boulogne. La réunion se déroule à Arras le 13 mai 1966. "J'y fus convoqué et je m'y rendis; je m'y retrouvais seul, pour défendre la cause du château; un vote favorable fut acquis et il fut décidé de reconsidérer la question" écris Fernand Beaucour (1).

Sur les conseils du conservateur régional des bâtiments de France Pierre Latte, est créée le 9 juin 1966 la Société de sauvegarde du château impérial de Pont-de-Briques, association loi 1901, à l'issue d'une réunion au 1er étage du café "au philosophe" au 4 rue Porte Neuve à Boulogne, réunissant F Beaucour une trentaine d'amis et historiens du Boulonnais. Parmi eux,  l'architecte en chef des monuments historiques Ch. Waldschmidt, Pierre André Wimet, Historien et spécialiste de la demeure de pont de Briques, Albert Mac Kenna, qui proposa ce nom de Société de Sauvegarde du Château Impérial de Pont de Briques, qui évitait toute confusion avec le  "Palais Imperial" de l'Hôtel Désandrouin, et Pierre Stenne, sculpteur de la statue nouvelle de Napoléon  sur la colonne de Boulogne. A cette réunion sont adoptés les statuts; les administrateurs sont élus, qui élisent eux même le bureau. Fernand Beaucour qui a été à la tête de toutes les démarches est élu président de la société.

 

Les statuts seront déposés à Boulogne le 17 juin 1966. De nombreuses personnalités soutiennent l'action de l'association, et participent au comité d'honneur: le général Catroux, le général Koenig, monsieur A. Masséna, Prince d'Essling, S.A. le Prince Louis Murat, le Comte Roger Waleski, le professeur Pierre Montet, de l'Institut et bien d'autres.

 

 Apres plusieurs années d'efforts, l'arrêté du ministre de l'équipement du 24 février 1969 modifie le plan routier initial, définit la rocade  actuelle qui ferra le tour du Château de Pont de Briques, et acte ainsi sa Sauvegarde.

Quelques années plus tard, la préservation définitive du château est acquise, par son classement comme monument historique par l'arrêté ministériel du 1er octobre 1974.

Accompagnant la préservation du château, la Société contribue à la connaissance historique de la période du Camp de Boulogne. F Beaucour publie les Lettres, Décisions et Actes de Napoléon à Pont-de-Briques ouvrage de référence en trois tomes regroupant la totalité des décisions prises par Napoléon à Pont-de-Briques, dans lequel on peut suivre au jour le jour la création de la Grande Armée préparée pour l'invasion de l'Angleterre (objectif qu'il dut abandonner après la perte de la marine franco-espagnole à Trafalgar), et toutes les décisions prises par l'Empereur pour administrer le pays. De nombreux articles de notre revue "Etudes Napoléoniennes", notamment dans les premiers numéros, détaillent l'histoire du château, la vie au camp de Boulogne et les circonstances de cette période capitale du premier Empire.  

 

(1) F Beaucour, JB Beaucour . Lettres Décisions et Actes de Napoléon à Pont de Briques - Tome 3, page 1.

MD

CENTRE D'ETUDES NAPOLEONIENNES

de la Société de Sauvegarde du Château Impérial de Pont de Briques

Siége Social: 

4 Rue Camille Pelletan

92300 LEVALLOIS-PERRET

FRANCE

Association Loi de 1901 fondée le 17 juin 1966

Suivez nous:

 

Email:  centre.etudesnapoleoniennes at gmx.fr

  • Icône sociale YouTube
  • Facebook Clean