On the banks of the Bérézina, in Stoudienka, 

a site steeped in 2000 years of history

The term Bérézina evokes  in french  a disaster, a rout, in short an event particularly  dramatic and catastrophic.

Why this peaceful  tributary of the Dnieper which winds through present-day Belarus has this terrible reputation ? The origin comes from the passage of the Berezina by the Grande Armée in retreat during the Russian campaign in 1812.  This episode  was tragically marked by more than 20,000 victims on both sides of the belligerents.  However, the military reality of the event  is glorious for the Napoleonic eagles.

beyond  of this  period of the 1st Empire which gave it its reputation, the site of the passage of the Berezina by Napoleon 1st is a place  loaded with more than 2000 years of history.  

 

Indeed, this river  very  swamp, including the vast  alluvial plain extends  sometimes on several  kilometer s  wide, has a barrier  physics on the road connecting old moscow  To  europe. Few places allow it to ford, and the site of Stoudienka / Brili where Napoleon crossed the Bérézina is also the one used by the Swedes of Charles XII  on June 15, 1708, who fought there against the troops of Peter the Great.

At the end of the 1st world war, during the war  Soviet-Polish the line of Berezina marked the maximum advance of the Polish troops; the Stoudienka site  is one of the points of the fights.

 

 

 

 

 

This is also where the German armies  then Russians in 1945 crossed the river , at the cost of deadly fighting.

At the time of the High Middle Ages, the site of Stoudienka was inhabited. This time it is the crossroads  between the north-south land trade axis already mentioned and the river trade route connecting the Scandinavian countries and the Arab countries via the Berezina then the Dnieper and  the Caspian Sea.

charles 12.jpg
WW2.jpg

A Viking treasure of 250 dirhams with several Viking weapons and objects was found on the site of the Napoleon Passage in 2000.

Recent excavations  carried out have allowed  to update many pottery in the vicinity of the natural ford, the oldest of which date from the 5th century .   

 

From  traces of prehistoric habitat could also be  updated, still on the same  place.

vikings.jpg

Sur les rives de la Bérézina, à Stoudienka,  

un site chargé de 2000 ans d'histoire

Le terme Bérézina évoque en français un désastre, une déroute, bref un évenement particulièrement dramatique et catastrophique.

Pourquoi ce paisible affluent du Dniepr qui serpente dans l'actuel Bélarus a t il cette terrible réputation? L'origine vient du passage de la Bérézina par la Grande Armée en retraite lors de la campagne de Russie en 1812. Cet épisode  a été marqué tragiquement par plus de 20 000 victimes de part et d'autre des belligérants. Pourtant, la réalité militaire de l'événement est glorieuse pour les aigles napoléoniennes.

Au delà de cette période du 1er Empire qui lui a donné sa réputation , le site du passage de la Bérézina par Napoléon 1er est un lieu chargé de plus de 2000 ans d'histoire. 

 

En effet, cette rivière très marécageuse, dont la vaste  plaine alluviale s’étend parfois sur plusieurs kilomètres de large, présente une barrière physique sur la route reliant l'ancienne moscovie  à l'europe. Peu d'endroit en permette un passage à gué, et le site de Stoudienka/Brili ou Napoléon a traversé la Bérézina est également celui emprunté par les Suédois de Charles XII le 15 juin 1708, qui y combattit contre les troupes de Pierre le Grand.

A la fin de la 1ere guerre mondiale, lors de la guerre Sovieto-Polonaise la ligne de la Bérézina marquait l'avancée maximale des troupes polonaises; le site de Stoudienka est l'un des points des combats.

 

 

 

 

 

C'est aussi là que les armées allemandes  puis russes en 1945 franchirent la rivière, aux prix de combats meurtriers.

A l'époque du haut Moyen-Age, le site de Stoudienka est habité. Il est cette fois le carrefour entre l'axe de commerce terrestre nord sud déjà cité et la route fluviale de commerce reliant les pays scandinaves et les pays arabes via la Bérézina puis le Dniepr et la mer Caspienne.

Un trésor Viking de 250 dirhams avec plusieurs armes et objets vikings a été retrouvé sur le site du passage Napoléonien en 2000.

Les fouilles récentes réalisées ont permis de mettre à jour de nombreuses poteries au voisinage du gué naturel, dont les plus anciennes datent du Vème siècle.  

 

Des traces d'habitat préhistorique ont également pu être mis à jour, toujours sur le même lieu.

MD

CENTRE D'ETUDES NAPOLEONIENNES

de la Société de Sauvegarde du Château Impérial de Pont de Briques

Siége Social: 

4 Rue Camille Pelletan

92300 LEVALLOIS-PERRET

FRANCE

Association Loi de 1901 fondée le 17 juin 1966

Suivez nous:

 

Email:  centre.etudesnapoleoniennes at gmx.fr

  • Icône sociale YouTube
  • Facebook Clean