A Franco Belarusse archaeological mission

on the BEREZINA website

logo IH.jpg
Logo Academie Sciences belarsu.jpg
logo_CEN Youtube reduit.jpg

The Berezina mission , whose main partners are the Center for Napoleonic Studies and the Institute of History of the Belarusian Academy of Sciences, is carrying out  land and underwater excavations since 2012 on the site of the passage of the Bérézina by Napoleon in 1812.

Archaeological work  are carried out under the direction  of the Institute of History of the Belarusian Academy of Sciences, with specific authorization from the Ministry  of Belarusian Culture, and in liaison with the French Embassy in Belarus

This research aims to identify any object dating from 1812, but also older objects, in an archaeological process of preserving this site which is unfortunately very exposed to treasure seekers.

Underwater investigations were carried out in September 2019, 2017 and 2015. In 2017 and 2019, they were carried out by archaeologists from the underwater archeology unit of the University of Brussels, led by Christophe Delaere, with the support of divers. volunteers from the Minskois Seapegas club. A report by Gary Grabli produced by the Capa agency retraces the 2017 operation; it was broadcast on TF1 twice (TF1 - Grands Reportages).

The results are published in the journal Etudes Napoléoniennes which can be ordered from the CEN store on this site.

P1070697.JPG

The BEREZINA archaeological mission aims to collect information from the field that can confirm or correct the deductions drawn from documentary studies and thus establish a better knowledge of the events accompanying the successful passage of the Bérézina by Napoleon. Indeed, uncertainties remain about the location of Napoleon's headquarters, the village of Stoudienka in 1812 and the two bridges built by the pontonniers of General Eblé; very little information is available on the mass graves that received the bodies of fallen soldiers in Bérézina. The circumstances of the end of the crossing after damage to the bridges and under Russian pressure are also poorly understood.

IMG_4368.JPG
Video BEREZINA2017

Fresh

BEREZINA mission

Find out more ...

The documentary bases of research in the field and the first results of the 2012 - 2017 campaigns were published in the journal Etudes Napoléoniennes (1, 2, 3, 4,7, 8, 9); the historical reminder of the passage of the Bérézina can be consulted in two reference works that Fernand Beaucour devoted to it in 2004 and 2006 (5,6).

 

  1. J. BEAUCOUR. «Study of the site of the passage of the Bérézina by the army of Napoleon. The use of satellite images for historical investigations ”, Etudes Napoléoniennes, 2008, EN42, p 215.

  2. I. GROUTSO. "Study of the site of the passage of the Berezina by the Napoleonic troops in Russian documentary sources", Etudes Napoléoniennes, Levallois 2011, EN43, p343

  3. J. BEAUCOUR. “The site of the Battle of Bérézina (November 26-29, 1812): History and archeology”, Napoleon Studies, Levallois 2013, EN 44, p467.

  4. V. KOCHMAN. “First results of archaeological research operations carried out in 2012 on the site of the passage of the Berezina by Napoleon I at Stoudienka”, Etudes Napoléoniennes, Levallois 2013, EN44, p485.

  5. F BEAUCOUR et al.  "Napoleon at the Berezina  26-29 November 1812 ”, edition of the Center d'Etudes Napoléoniennes, Levallois, 2004.

  6. F BEAUCOUR, J TABEUR, LIVTCHENKO. “La Bérézina, a military victory”, preface by Jean Tulard, ECONOMICA editions, 2006.

  7. J. BEAUCOUR. "Results of the 2012-2015 excavation missions: bivouacs of the Imperial Guard and Napoleonic bridges", Etudes Napoléoniennes, Levallois 2016, EN 45-1, p675.

  8. J. BEAUCOUR, S. BYL, B DEBRAND. “Main results of the 2019 excavation campaign of the Bérézina mission”, Etudes Napoléoniennes, Levallois 2020, EN 47, p51.V.

  9. V. KOCHMAN. “Tumulus fields near the village of Stoudienka: historical information, location, materials”, Etudes Napoléoniennes, Levallois 2020, EN47, p109.

Une mission archéologique Franco Belarusse

sur le site de la BEREZINA

La mission Bérézina, dont les partenaires principaux sont le Centre d’Etudes Napoléoniennes et l’Institut d’Histoire de l’Académie des Sciences du Belarus, mène des fouilles terrestres et subaquatiques depuis 2012 sur le site du passage de la Bérézina par Napoléon en 1812.

Les travaux archéologiques sont réalisées sous la direction de l'institut d'Histoire de l'Académie des Sciences du Bélarus, sur autorisation spécifique du ministère de la Culture du Bélarus, et en liaison avec l'Ambassade de France au Bélarus

Ces recherches visent à identifier tout objet datant de 1812, mais également des objets plus anciens, dans une démarche archéologique de préservation de ce site qui est malheureusement très exposé aux chercheurs de trésors.

Des investigations subaquatiques ont été effectuées en septembre 2019, 2017 et 2015. En 2017 et 2019, elles ont été réalisées des archéologues de la cellule d’archéologie subaquatique de l’université de Bruxelles, dirigés par Christophe Delaere, avec le renfort de plongeurs bénévoles du club Minskois Seapegas.Un reportage de Gary Grabli produit par l'agence Capa retrace l’opération de 2017; il a été diffusé sur TF1 à deux reprises (TF1 - Grands Reportages)

La mission archéologique BEREZINA vise à recueillir du terrain des informations pouvant confirmer ou corriger les déductions tirées d’études documentaires et ainsi établir une meilleure connaissance des évènements accompagnant le passage réussi de la Bérézina par Napoléon. En effet, des incertitudes subsistent sur la localisation du quartier général de Napoléon, du village Stoudienka en 1812 et des deux ponts construits par les pontonniers du général Eblé; très peu d’informations sont disponibles sur les fosses communes ayant reçu les corps des soldats tombés à la Bérézina. Les circonstance de la fin du franchissement après l'endommagement des ponts et sous la pression russe sont également mal connues.

Fresh

Mission BEREZINA

En savoir plus...

Les bases documentaires des recherches sur le terrain et les premiers résultats des campagne 2012 - 2017 ont été publiées dans la revue Etudes Napoléoniennes (1, 2, 3, 4,7) ; le rappel historique du passage de la Bérézina pourra, lui, être consulté dans deux ouvrages de référence que Fernand Beaucour lui a consacré en 2004 et 2006 (5,6).

 

  1. J. BEAUCOUR. « Etude du site du passage de la Bérézina par l’armée de Napoléon. L’utilisation d’images satellites pour des investigations historiques », Etudes Napoléoniennes, 2008, EN42, p 215.

  2. I. GROUTSO. « L’étude du site du passage de la Bérézina par les troupes Napoléoniennes dans les sources documentaires russes », Etudes Napoléoniennes, Levallois 2011, EN43, p343

  3. J. BEAUCOUR. « Le site de la bataille de la Bérézina (26-29 novembre 1812) : Histoire et archéologie », Etudes Napoléoniennes, Levallois 2013, EN 44, p467.

  4. V. KOCHMAN. « Premiers résultats des opérations de recherches archéologiques réalisées en 2012 sur le site du passage de la Bérézina par Napoléon 1er à Stoudienka », Etudes Napoléoniennes, Levallois 2013, EN44, p485.

  5. F BEAUCOUR et al.  « Napoléon à la Bérézina   26-29 novembre 1812 », édition du Centre d’Etudes Napoléoniennes, Levallois, 2004.

  6. F BEAUCOUR, J TABEUR, LIVTCHENKO. « La Bérézina, une victoire militaire », préface de Jean Tulard, éditions ECONOMICA, 2006.

  7. J. BEAUCOUR. « Résultats des missions de fouilles 2012-2015: bivouacs de la garde Imperiale et ponts Napoléoniens», Etudes Napoléoniennes, Levallois 2016, EN 45-1, p675.

 

MD

CENTRE D'ETUDES NAPOLEONIENNES

de la Société de Sauvegarde du Château Impérial de Pont de Briques

Siége Social: 

4 Rue Camille Pelletan

92300 LEVALLOIS-PERRET

FRANCE

Association Loi de 1901 fondée le 17 juin 1966

Suivez nous:

 

Email:  centre.etudesnapoleoniennes at gmx.fr

  • Icône sociale YouTube
  • Facebook Clean